Penalties for Multiple DUIs in Georgia

Our Blog

Penalties for Multiple DUIs in Georgia

April 27th, 2022 | By

Greensboro Criminal Defense Attorney


The penalties are strict enough for a first DUI offense in Georgia. On a second or subsequent offense, the punishment will escalate.

In Georgia, the lookback penalty for DUI convictions is longer than in many other states. If you have more than one conviction in a ten-year period, you will face repeat offender penalties.

The most significant attached to a repeat conviction is the potential jail time. If you are convicted of a second offense, there is a mandatory jail sentence. While the range of sentences under the law is 90 days to 12 months, the judge has the ability to probate all but 72 hours of the sentence, making an attorney’s advocacy even more important in your case. Here are some additional penalties for a repeat conviction:

  • 12 months probation (minus time served)
  • Fines between $600-1000
  • 30 days of community service
  • A 3-year license suspension for a second conviction within 5 years

The penalties rise even further if the driver is convicted a third time within ten years. The minimum jail sentence is 120 days, and the judge can probate all but 15 days of the sentence. A fourth DUI conviction is treated as a felony.

There are additional penalties for two convictions between five years. If you are facing any DUI charges, you need legal help. If you choose not to fight the charges, your lawyer could work on a plea deal with the prosecutor that could result in penalties on the lower end of the statutory range.

Call a Greensboro Criminal Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with a crime, you need legal help immediately. Call the E.J. Boswell Law Office at 706.454.0032 or contact us online to request a free consultation. We are here whenever you need us.